Western Australian Race Fields

Betting operators who engage in or conduct betting on Western Australian races are authorised to publish/use Western Australian race fields.

The racing bets levy scheme is achieved through the Betting Control Act 1954 and the Racing Bets Levy Act 2009. Betting operators who engage in or conduct betting on Western Australian races are authorised to publish/use Western Australian race fields, subject to:

  1. Payment of a racing bets levy to the Gaming and Wagering Commission; and
  2. Wagering operators complying with prescribed information requirements in relation to matters concerning the integrity and reputation of the racing industry.

Racing Bets Levy

On 7 July 2018, changes to the Racing Bets Levy Regulations came into effect. The changes apply to all race meetings conducted on or after 1 August 2018.

Racing Bets Levy lodgement guide

Related policy

Western Australian racing calendar

Publishing or using WA Race Fields

Betting operators licensed in Australia do not need permission to use WA race fields, however, offshore betting operators are required to seek approval to use WA race fields.

Lodgement guide to obtaining approval to publish/use WA Race Fields


Racing Bets Levy Account

All levy monies received by the Gaming and Wagering Commission are held in the Racing Bets Levy account. The funds (with the exception of an administration fee) are distributed back to Western Australian racing clubs registered with Racing and Wagering Western Australia (RWWA).

Prescribed information requirements

In addition to the levy, betting operators must supply prescribed information on betting transactions conducted on WA races to the Gaming and Wagering Commission. Prescribed information includes information in documents, records or accounts relating to racing bets placed with or placed or accepted through, a betting operator.

Betting operators must co-operate with the Chief Steward of RWWA and authorised officers of the Gaming and Wagering Commission by allowing them to:

  • view any document, record or accounts of the operator containing prescribed information;
  • provide them with a copy of any document, record or accounts containing the prescribed information; and
  • where possible, provide real time access to betting systems.

Failure to comply may result in a breach of the Betting Control Act 1954.

This information is required in order to:

  • evaluate Western Australian racing programs;
  • assess the profitability and revenue generation of specific race types;
  • maximise revenue returns and distribution back to the racing industry; and
  • detect any abnormal wagering activity and thus protect the integrity and reputation of the WA racing industry.

The information received by the Gaming and Wagering Commission for the above purposes, is provided in a summary or statistical format to RWWA and does not directly associate the betting operator with the data.

Race clubs and codes

  • RC001 Albany Harness Racing Club
  • RC002 Albany Racing Club Inc
  • RC003 Ashburton Race Club
  • RC004 Bridgetown Harness Racing Club
  • RC005 Broome Turf Club
  • RC007 Bunbury Trotting Club Inc
  • RC008 Bunbury Turf Club
  • RC009 Busselton Trotting Club
  • RC011 Carnarvon Race Club Inc
  • RC012 Central Wheatbelt Harness Racing Club (Kellerberrin)
  • RC013 Collie Harness Racing Club
  • RC014 Collie Race Club Inc
  • RC015 Coolgardie Racing Club
  • RC017 Dongara Irwin Race Club
  • RC019 East Pilbara Race Club
  • RC020 Eastern Gascoyne Race Club (Landor)
  • RC021 Esperance Bay Turf Club
  • RC024 Geraldton Turf Club
  • RC067 Gloucester Park Harness Racing Club
  • RC025 Golden Mile Trotting Club Inc (Kalgoorlie)
  • RC026 Harvey District Trotting  Club Inc
  • RC027 Junction Race Club
  • RC028 Kalgoorlie Boulder Racing Club Inc
  • RC029 Kojonup Race Club
  • RC030 Kununurra Race Club
  • RC031 Laverton Race Club
  • RC032 Leinster District Race Club Inc
  • RC033 Leonora District Racing Club Inc
  • RC035 Marble Bar Amateur Race Club
  • RC036 Meekatharra Race Club
  • RC037 Mingenew Turf Club
  • RC038 Moora Race Club
  • RC039 Mount Barker Turf Club Inc
  • RC040 Mt Magnet Race Club
  • RC041 Narrogin Race Club (Thoroughbred)
  • RC101 Narrogin Pace Club (Harness)
  • RC066 Nor West Jockey Club Inc (Roeburne)
  • RC042 Norseman Turf Club
  • RC044 Northam Harness Racing Club
  • RC045 Northam Race Club Inc
  • RC046 Toodyay
  • RC047 Perth Racing/WA Turf Club (Ascot and Belmont)
  • RC048 Pingrup Race Club
  • RC049 Pinjarra Harness Racing Club
  • RC050 Pinjarra Race Club
  • RC051 Port Hedland Turf Club
  • RC065 Quindanning Race Club
  • RC053 Wagin Trotting Club
  • RC055 West Kimberley Turf Club (Derby)
  • RC056 WAGRA Cannington
  • RC057 WAGRA Mandurah
  • RC058 WAGRA Northam
  • RC060 Williams Harness Racing Club Inc
  • RC061 Wyndham Turf Club
  • RC062 Yalgoo Jockey Club Inc
  • RC063 York Harness Racing Club Inc
  • RC064 York Racing
  • RC100 WA Racing Industry (retrospective data do not use)
Page reviewed 25 June 2019